Port Oot, Starbuird Hame

Pretty much sums up my reactions to Cat Boyds’ article. I am part of RIC and was one of those out knocking on doors. Like the author of this post though I feel Cat is making up straw me simply to indulge in a bit of SNP bashing. Not the way forward.

A Wilderness of Peace

radicalcat

So this caused a wee bit of a tizzy on Twitter last night. A fair amount of folk were taken aback by it, and you can see why: independence campaigners are no more or less harder-working by their class or upbringing, and might well resent the implication that only those “less posh” do all the hard work. It could also rub those independence supporters who think of themselves as working class the wrong way, if they don’t actively support or work for RIC. I thought I’d wait until I had a read of it before commenting on the piece itself – pull quotes can often read very differently out of context.

The “posher nationalists” quote itself didn’t bother me, mostly because I’ve been accused of being posh for most of my life. But the piece does talk a lot about class politics.

View original post 2,169 more words

Leave a comment

October 4, 2016 · 10:03 pm

Leave a Reply

